broccoli rabe panini with mozzarella

When Keri asked if I would like to post some recipe reviews from the Smitten Kitchen cookbook, I could not have possibly said no.  I have been sampling these recipes (and, sometimes, sharing them with my family) since the book arrived in the mail on its release date (a highly awesome and appreciated gift, I should mention, from Keri).

Paninis. . . er, seemingly-fancy (but not), super-stuffed-with-deliciousness, grilled-sandwiches. . . have become a weeknight staple in our home since we received an electric griddle/grill press as a gift, but (as Deb mentions) do not hesitate to try these if you are sans electric press as the cookbook gives alternate instructions.

Image

These broccoli rabe paninis with mozzarella (p. 93) were a welcome change from the stand-by fillings we usually use, though I should mention that I did not serve them to my cooked-greens averse (read: crazy) children.  They ate paninis with stand-by fillings, but it was a win-win: we all happily ate dinner, and I had an appetizer of surplus broccoli rabe.  My husband and I loved these and will absolutely be having them again soon (hmm- maybe this week since I have yet to plan our dinner menu and grocery shop).  The broccoli rabe sautées wonderfully without getting slimy (spinach, I’m talking to you here!), and its cute florets and tender stems lend a textural interest we enjoyed.  Then there’s the fresh mozzarella.  Oh, you could sub in another cheese, and of course it would still be delicious.  But don’t.  Save that provolone for something else and try this recipe as written.  The almost buttery, fresh mozzarella buddies up perfectly with the broccoli rabe.  The only change I made to this recipe was adding leaves of fresh basil, the flavor of which was lost against the hearty greens.  Not that we missed it- these sandwiches were pretty much perfect.


(ps- these vegetarian sandwiches were hearty enough to serve as dinner but would also be light enough for lunch, say, with a friend who gives lovely cookbooks as gifts)

6 thoughts on “broccoli rabe panini with mozzarella

  1. I have to say, I do love my press… it’s huge and takes up precious kitchen space, but it has reversible elements that switch from grill to griddle, and I honestly have gotten a lot of use out of it.

  2. It’s a Cuisinart. I love that I can make loads of pancakes at one time, and I can pack if full of quesadillas so that we can all eat at the same time on quesadilla night… which happens almost weekly. Not sure I would’ve sprung for it on my own though, but I do love it.

  3. Hi Amy! These look and sound delicious – must try when I’m back on the cheese. I’ll cook it in a cast-iron frying pan – do you think I would need to put a weight on it? I’d never heard of broccoli rabe but can often get the similar-looking purple-spouting broccoli, so I’ll try it with that.

  4. Hi Anna! Sorry that I just saw your comment! Yes, you can definitely go with cast-iron, and yes, adding a weight will help with the “panini-ness” (I just made up that term). Before I got my electric press I made paninis on the stove, and I found that just using the lid from another pan was the best thing with which to squish them. Keep in mind, you’ll have to put some muscle into pressing them this way, but the end result is the same.
    Oh, and broccoli rabe can also be found in the markets labeled “rapini”… I think kale or mustard greens would work equally well.
    Nice to “meet” you!

Leave a comment